Question about letters

Home Forums OpenEars Question about letters

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Author
    andrewjrangel
    Participant

I am trying to create an app that uses single letters rather than words. Has anyone ever worked with just letters or single digits? I am having a really hard time getting it to recognize single letters, and it also attempts to string them together into a word. Is there anyway to limit what it tries to suggest to just one char or one string instance? I have tried putting words in the dictionary like “que” for Q, but some letters are still unwieldy. I am new to OpenEars, so I apologize if this question is redundant. Thanks for your help!

Halle Winkler
    Politepix

Welcome Andrew,

Yes, this is unfortunately a known limitation of speech recognition in general. Here are a few discussions about it:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&as_q=site%3Apolitepix.com%2Fforums+letters

andrewjrangel
    Participant

Thanks for that, I guess my searching didn’t go far back enough to see that entry. I am interested in if you can literally limit the result to one entry from the dictionary? So that it doesn’t try to string letters together for the words it hears. I feel like if I could force it to that I could get more success on the single letters. I am essentially trying to match their answers based on questions that come up, and then see if they are correct or not via OpenEars speech rather than the norm for selecting an answer via touch.

Halle Winkler
    Politepix

Not quite sure I’m following — can you elaborate on how only having a single letter in the dictionary would let you recognize spelling?

andrewjrangel
    Participant

So I want someone to read a question and answer “A” or “B” or “C” etc. So I was hoping to set it up so they press a button and say the letter and then press it again to stop OpenEars from processing their voice.