Reducing the size of mdef and sendump

Home Forums OpenEars Reducing the size of mdef and sendump

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)

• Author
    mohammed-zulkifl
    Participant

Hi Halle,
    I am Newbie here, got interested in voice recognition lately for a project, your work has inspired me to go all out and do more with openears, may be some apps in near future. I have a unique problem, probably you would have come across and solved but i am not able to get hold of it right now. I want to recognize only 5 words, to improve its accuracy i want to reduce the mdef and sendump so that it can only contain those 5 words related content only. Also i want to recognize between 2 different voices. Let me know how i can achieve it. How to distinguish between voices.

Thanks and I appreciate all the help. The way you have put efforts in OpenEars is laudable.

Halle Winkler
    Politepix

Hi Mohammed,

Thanks for moving this over here and giving me a bit more background. So, the way that you restrict the possible recognition is via the use of a small language model, which it sounds like you’ve already done correctly. You could only change the mdef and sendump files by retraining the acoustic model, which I don’t think would give you results you’d be happy with, but if it is something you are very interested in, you can ask (very precise) questions about adapting the acoustic model at the CMU Pocketsphinx forums after reading the introduction here and trying to execute its instructions on your own: https://cmusphinx.sourceforge.net/wiki/tutorialadapt. I don’t recommend it if the plan is to have fast recognition across many different accents and under different recording environments, though.

If you want to let me know what words are being confused for each other, maybe I can make some suggestions. As far as making the app smaller, there are several suggestions here: https://www.politepix.com/openears/support/#13